Richmond: Virginia's Working Capital

The City of Richmond is the capital of the Commonwealth of Virginia, noted as being one of the best states in the country to do business. Below is information on the local and state government structure.

City of Richmond:

The City of Richmond operates under a Mayor-Council form of government whereby the Mayor is elected at large by a majority of voters in at least five of the city’s nine council districts. The Mayor serves a full-time, four-year term overseeing the executive management of the city's departments and agencies.

The Mayor acts as a chief executive officer (CEO) with responsibilities that include submitting the annual budget to City Council, selecting a Chief Administrative Officer, issuing regulations, and making recommendations on revenue and funding transfer matters. The Chief Administrative Officer (CAO), who reports to the Mayor, is directly responsible for the city's day-to-day municipal operations. The CAO is appointed with the approval of City Council.

The Richmond City Council consists of one elected representative from each of the city’s nine council districts to represent their citizens in creating and amending local laws, providing policy and government oversight, and approving the annual city budget.


Add to home page preview

City of Richmond
Economic & Community Development

Main Street Station
1500 East Main Street, Suite 400

Richmond, VA 23219